The View from Above

image

One late afternoon many years ago, I was in a cab in some small city in Japan, returning to the ship. I do not recall what was in my mind at the moment as it was not especially memorable. But suddenly, I found myself up high in a very serene place. From this “height” I looked down on my thoughts as if they were a landscape viewed from high altitude aircraft. I found, that from this place of quiet, I had absolutely perfect control over every thought.

“Far below me I saw Earth as a little cold room that had opened its doors and let me free.”

Winged Pharaoh, Joan Grant

 

NASA image

Leave a Reply

